The 5 Stages Of Grief After Vision Loss

Man with headset at computer screenWhen someone is told, usually by a doctor, that they are losing their vision and perhaps may go blind, it is natural that a range of emotions follows.  These emotions may pertain to the person themselves, their friends, family, and colleagues.  They may relate to the practical aspects of how their life will change, including dependence upon others.  Most importantly, these emotions can get to the heart of not just how the person thinks about their vision loss, but how they feel.

Here are the five stages of grief that typically follow the the awareness of impending vision loss:
  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance
Good mental health: Sight loss and the five stages of grief

Help SDCB help people cope with their vision loss

Posted in Adapting and Emotions - Living with Vision Loss | View Post